Taking time to reflect…..

I have been thinking and reflecting about the assigned blog post this week. I am a stickler for projected deadlines and here I am 2 days later sitting down to write. I have sat at this computer on multiple occasions to write this week and stared at the blank white screen, expression through written word is a love of mine. The irony of this was not lost. My unwritten silence was deafening and frustrating, especially with what is happening around us and the gross mistreatment of POC, specifically George Floyd.

This morning I participated in an inspiring chat on Twitter called #CrazyPLN. The topic was “Be comfortable with being uncomfortable! Holding Thoughtful Connections, Educating Hearts.” I realized that it was OK for me to not have all the answers right now…I just need speak out, not be silent, to be honest and transparent with the right intentions. This personal statement reiterated that if I believe this personally, then I must take action and model it professionally, drawing from the support of my PLN on social media.

The question posed this week: “Do teachers have a responsibility to model active citizenship and anti-oppressive education in digital spaces?” The answer seems simple – yes. But why? This is what had me needing to take time and reflect upon. I want to make sure I am educated about what it is I am making a statement about. Choose my words wisely and authentically. Silence is not an option, but ignorance can be hurtful, intentional or not. While reading the article recently posted in the education post I read this statement: “We must commit to teaching in a way that totally disrupts and dismantles the system of oppression we have been operating within for over 400 years.” I needed to take time to reflect on my own personal bias and what I can do as an educator and an individual to be aware of those culturally engrained bias’. I need to acknowledge that I am part of the system and by not speaking out I am silently agreeing with the side of the suppressor. How could I teach, respect, support, empathy and love for my students and not stand up for their rights? Social justice is not only about equality but EQUITY (link provides image), it is about compassion and empathy, it is about caring for others more than I care about my myself, it is about acknowledging my place of privilege and a systematic injustice and using my voice to speak for those who are unheard, it is modelling the behaviour I want to see and expect from my student’s, it is about taking a stand and shedding light on the social injustices that continue to suppress POC.

During my years as an education student, we have continually been advised to be careful and rethink social media accounts, to the point where I felt I should delete any social media I was a part of. I now realize that access to technology is a privilege in itself. Rather than be scared of what may happen if I post or say the wrong thing, I need to be proactive in ensuring I am using those platforms in a professional manner. If I live in fear of saying the wrong thing or making someone uncomfortable, I will never be able to be a part of the change the world needs. If I do say something that after being enlightened I regret, it is more important to model the power of an apology and that it is ok to be wrong, as long as you take the steps forward to right those wrongs. This is why I have decided to not be scared to speak out and speak up about the uncomfortable topics, including racism, anti-racism, social injustices. I will do this by first educating myself and creating opportunities for the hard conversations in and out of classroom with students and well as parents, learning and unlearning through listening to people that are mistreated, underpaid, underrepresented, by reading and sharing resources, ensuring I am representing POC, admitting my place of ignorance, understanding that ignorance is bliss only when you have the privilege to look the other way, and support those being oppressed by posting on social media modeling a need for change and backing up what I teach by putting my words into action both off and online. This models the digital literacy our students need living in an online/post-truth world.

I would like to share a Facebook post from my cousins wife that resonated deeply with me, and gave me the courage to write this post. Her name is Michele Charles Gustafson:

AFTER THE BLACK SQUARE: It’s time for more. Go beyond posting a square without really knowing what it means or saying “I don’t see color”.

DO MORE: See that all of this does apply to you – town, country, city, rural, Canada, the US, and beyond. If you’re living, it applies to you.

DO MORE:Stop a friend who tells a racist joke about any minority. Halt a conversation that diminishes any difference. Commit to learning the reason for the pain of the one who’s had enough instead of looking at the behavior that comes from the anger. There are stories you don’t know (…). There is traumatic pain you not comprehending (…). This kind of “doing more” is the work inside the heart and the spot for the real change if that’s really your aim.I won’t pretend, Folks. I’m exhausted from dredged up pangs & pains, of slights, looks, comments, assumptions, expectations and judgements all a part of life as a person of color. This last week made me replay every last one I’ve experienced over my 42 years. (You know the feeling of grief after a death? Yes, like that.) Exhausting. It’s not an equal life. I need you to know that – no matter where we live, what smile we put on at the time you see us, or if we’re seen as “one of the good ones”. It’s not equal. And it’s exhausting. If you can’t see your way certain to “DO MORE”, or if what I’m sharing with you makes you uncomfortable in any way, that’s a signal to explore why. There’s more to your story in all of this. Bias is subtle, silent, and in you. In some cases, it even looks like thinking it’s not a part of your reality. It is. Look deeper. Explore it. That’s where lasting change starts – in the heart. ~MCG

I think that’s all I have to say for now.

2 thoughts on “Taking time to reflect…..

  1. Well said Shelly,
    Thank you for sharing your honest reflection and how much thought and effort you put into your post. I can relate with your words in so many ways. We just have to keep learning, doing our best and learning how to deal with situations that come up along the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment